IMG_7902

SENIOR STATISTICIANS ECONOMISTS (I.S.E)

Presentation of the Engineering Senior Statisticians Economists (ISE) course

ENSEA’s Engineering Senior Statisticians Economists (ISE) programme is one of the most popular courses in Africa, due to the quality of the training and the high employability rate of its graduates. The ISE course is an engineering programme that awards the Master’s degree, the objective of which is to train students capable of contributing to the fundamental orientations of development actions of para-public, public and private bodies.
ISE Degree holders are capable of participating in the definition of economic and social policies, analysing complex structures, analysing surveys, writing reports and synthesis work and drawing up national accounts and price indices.

Admission requirements

Admission in this very selective training course, which thus aims to be elitist, is only gained by entry examination. It is open to students :

  • holders of a Licence degree in economics or mathematics,
  • from the scientific preparatory classes of the INP-HB or
  • holders of the Engineering Senior Statistician (ITS) degree.

 

Training

The Engineering Senior Statistician Economist training extends over three school years and includes both theoretical courses and practical work in the field in the context of internships in companies or in public or para-public institutions or international organisations, etc.

During his training, an ISE student receives a wide range of teaching covering many areas of expertise, such as: economics, sociology, computer science, finance, management, etc. Thus, an ISE student follows two (02) years of general learning before specialising in the third year.

 

Teaching Units

The table below summarises the Teaching Units (TU) mapped to the general learning outcomes:

Teaching Unit   General training outcomes
Computer science- Office automation
- Statistical software
- Database
Economics - Theoretical concept of important concepts in economics
- Tools needed to carry out a study or economic analysis
- Application of theoretical concepts case studies
Finance - The fundamental notions of general finance
- Understanding financial models
Mathematics - Necessary tools for understanding the statistical methods
- Necessary tools to enable the continuation in the field of scientific research
Statistics - Survey practice
- Statistical study preparation
- Design of collection tools
- Data processing and analysis
- Statistical modelling

SPECIAL ADVANCED COURSES

Specialised advanced courses leading to areas of expertise in both the public and private sectors, are available:

  • Advanced Statistics ;
  • Finances ;
  • Actuarial ;
  • Macroeconomics ;
  • Business.

a) Actuarial Sciences

After their training, students who have chosen this specialised course have the double diploma: Engineering Senior Statistician Economist (ISE) degree from ENSEA and Actuary degree from ISFA of Lyon. Students in this actuarial option specialise in the application of probability, statistics and risk management. They become familiar with the fields of: insurance, finance and social protection. By learning to provide concrete answers in terms of portfolio valuation, pricing, risk modelling, solvency measurement, etc…
The training covers the following modules:
  • 1. Stochastic Process II

  • 2. Risk Management

  • 3. Portfolio Selection and Arbitration

  • 4. Actuarial sciences - Life

  • 5. Actuarial sciences - Damages

  • 6. Actuarial Techniques

  • 7. Financial Econometrics

b) Statistics and Econometrics

Focusing on mathematical statistics, this option is oriented towards the field of statistical research. It introduces in-depth statistical concepts, including advanced econometric models. From the 2018-2019 academic year, a Data Science component has been introduced.
The modules covered by the Statistics and Econometrics specialised course are as follows:
  • 1. In-depth Time Series

  • 2. In-depth Data Analysis

  • 3. Stochastic Processes II

  • 4. Exploratory data analysis

  • 5. Panel Data Econometrics

  • 6. Duration models

c) Macroeconomics

Focusing on the management of public economic policies, this option provides students with the necessary tools to carry out national and international economics.
The training covers the following modules:
  • 1. Computable General Balance Modeling

  • 2. Monetary and Financial Macroeconomics

  • 3. In-depth Time Series

  • 4. Real and Monetary Cycles

  • 5. Labour Market and Employment Policies

d) Business Economics

This option offers a complete range of decision support tools for companies, based in particular on methods developed in statistics and Business Analytics. This specialised course trains students in modern quantitative methods while giving them a global vision of the company and its environment. It enables them to acquire operational skills in a wide range of professions and sectors. The modules covered by the Business Economics are as follows:
  • 1. Business Financing

  • 2. Market Research (Marketing)

  • 3. Stock Exchange Techniques

  • 4. Financial Analysis and Business Diagnosis

  • 5. Operational Research

  • 6. Trade Law

e) Finance

The objective here about is about providing the most advanced statistical and econometric methods for application to financial data and issues. The modelling of time series is central to this specialised course: financial series at high/medium/low frequency, univariate and multivariate, discrete or continuous time.
  • 1. Computable General Balance Modeling

  • 2. Monetary and Financial Macroeconomics

  • 3. In-depth Time Series

  • 4. Real and Monetary Cycles

  • 5. Labour Market and Employment Policies

Jobs Opportunities

They are called upon to serve in the national statistical or planning services, in other administrative services, in public, semi-public or private organisations (non-financial organisations, banks, insurance, investment companies, research companies, etc.) in their countries.

ISE

INGÉNIEURS STATISTICIENS ÉCONOMISTES (I.S.E)

La filière des Ingénieurs Statisticiens Economistes (ISE) de l’ENSEA est l’une des filières les plus prisées en Afrique, en raison de la qualité de la formation et du fort taux d’employabilité de ses diplômés. La filière ISE est une formation d’ingénieur qui confère le grade Master dont l’objectif  est de former des élèves capables de contribuer aux orientations fondamentales des actions de développement des structures parapubliques, publiques et privées.
Les titulaires du diplôme ISE sont capables de participer à la définition des politiques économiques et sociales, d’analyser les structures complexes, de dépouiller des enquêtes, de rédiger des rapports et des travaux de synthèse et élaborer des comptes nationaux et des indices de prix.

Le recrutement dans cette filière de formation très sélective qui se veut ainsi élitiste se fait uniquement par voie de concours. Il est ouvert aux étudiants :

  • titulaires d’une licence en économie ou en mathématiques,
  • issues des classes préparatoires scientifiques de l’INP-HB ou
  • titulaires du diplôme ITS.

La formation des ISE s’étend sur trois années scolaires et comprend à la fois des cours théoriques, des travaux pratiques sur le terrain dans le cadre des stages en entreprises ou au sein des institutions publiques, parapubliques ou d’organismes internationaux, etc.

Au cours de sa formation, un ISE reçoit une large gamme d’enseignement permettant de couvrir de nombreux domaines d’expertise, tel que : l’économie, la sociologie, l’informatique, la finance, le management, etc… Ainsi, l’élève ISE suit deux (02) années d’apprentissage général avant de faire un choix de spécialisation la troisième année de formation.

Des voies de spécialisation, aboutissant à des domaines d’expertise aussi bien du secteur public que celui du privé, sont disponibles :

  • Statistiques Avancées ;
  • Finances ;
  • Actuariat ;
  • Macroéconomie ;
  • Entreprises.

Le tableau ci-après résume les Unité d’Enseignement (UE) mises en correspondance avec les acquis généraux :

Unité d’enseignement   Acquis généraux
Economie - Notion théorique des concepts importants de la science économique
- Les outils nécessaires pour mener une étude ou une analyse économique
- Application des notions théorique dans les études de cas
Mathématiques - Les outils nécessaires pour la compréhension des méthodes
statistiques
- Les outils nécessaires pour permettre la poursuite dans le domaine de la recherche scientifique
Finances - Les notions fondamentales de la finance générale
- Compréhension des modèles financière
Informatiques - Bureautique
- Logiciel statistique
- Base de données
Statistiques - Pratique des enquêtes
- Elaboration d’une étude statistique
- Conception des outils de collecte
- Traitement et analyse des données
- Modélisation statistique

A- Voie d'Approfondissement - option Actuariat

Après leur formation, les étudiants ayant choisi cette option ont le double diplôme ISE et Actuaire de l’ISFA de Lyon. Les élèves dans l’option actuariat se spécialisent dans l’application des probabilités, des statistiques et de la gestion des risques. Ils se familiarisent aux domaines de : l’assurance, la finance ainsi que de la protection sociale. En apprenant à amener des réponses concrètes en termes de valorisation de portefeuilles, tarification, modélisation des risques, mesure de solvabilité, etc…

La formation couvre les modules suivants:

  • 1.Processus Stochastiques II

  • 2. Risk Management

  • 3. Choix de Portefeuille et Arbitrage

  • 4. Actuariat - Vie

  • 5. Actuariat - dommage

  • 6. Techniques actuarielles

  • 7. Économétrie de la Finance

B- Voie d'approfondissement - option Statistique et Économétrie

Mettant l’accent sur les statistiques mathématique, cette option est orientée vers le domaine de la recherche en statistique. On y introduit des notions de statistique approfondies, notamment les modèles économétriques avancé. Pour l’année scolaire 2018-2019, un volet Data Science a été introduite.

Les modules couverts par la voie de spécialisation Statistique et Économétrie sont:

  • 1.Séries temporelles approfondies

  • 2. Analyse des données Approfondie

  • 3. Processus Stochastiques II

  • 4. Analyse exploratoire des données

  • 5. Économétrie des données de Panel

  • 6. Modèles de durée

C- Voie d'approfondissement - option Macroéconomie

Se focalisant sur la gestion des politiques économique publique, cette option met à disposition des élèves les outils nécessaires pour mener à bien l’économie national et international.

La formation couvre les modules suivants:

  • 1.Modélisation en équilibre général calculable

  • 2. Macroéconomie monétaire et financière

  • 3. Séries temporelles approfondies

  • 4. Cycles réels et monétaires

  • 5. Marché du travail et politiques de l’emploi

D- Voie d'Approfondissement - option Economie d'Entreprise

Cette option propose une gamme complète d’outils d’aide à la décision pour les entreprises, en s’appuyant notamment sur les méthodes développées en statistique et en Business Analytics. La voie Entreprise forme les étudiants aux méthodes quantitatives modernes tout en leur donnant une vision globale de l’entreprise et de son environnement. Elle leur permet d’acquérir des compétences opérationnelles dans une vaste gamme de métiers et de secteurs d’activité. Les modules couverts par la voie de spécialisation Économie d’Entreprise sont les suivants:
  • 1. Financement des entreprises

  • 2. Etude de marché (Marketing)

  • 3. Techniques boursières

  • 4. Analyse Financière et Diagnostic de l’entreprise

  • 5. Recherche Opérationnelle

  • 5. Droit commercial

E- Voie d'Approfondissement - option Finance

L’objectif de cette option est de transmettre les méthodes statistiques et économétriques les plus avancées, en vues d’applications aux données et problématiques financières. La modélisation des séries temporelles est centrale dans cette option : séries financières à haute/moyenne/basse fréquence, univariées comme multivariées, à temps discret ou continu.
  • 1.Modélisation en équilibre général calculable

  • 2. Macroéconomie monétaire et financière

  • 3. Séries temporelles approfondies

  • 4. Cycles réels et monétaires

  • 5. Marché du travail et politiques de l’emploi

Débouchés Professionnels

Ils sont appelés à servir dans les services nationaux de statistique ou de planification, dans d’autres services administratifs, dans des organismes publics, semi-publics ou privés (organismes non-financiers, banques, assurances, sociétés d’investissement, sociétés d’études, etc.) de leurs pays.