prcs

MAIN ACTIVITIES AND EXPECTED RESULTS

During Phase IV of PRCS, ENSEA actions are structured around the three (3) activities presented above:

 

Activity 1: Development of National Statistical Services Officers

The importance of having reliable and high-quality statistics for formulating and monitoring economic policies is well established. Unfortunately, despite the efforts made, there is a lack of human resources of sufficient quality and quantity in Africa. In addition to the National Statistical Institutes (NSIs), which are generally well provided, other statistical services, although they play an important role, face enormous difficulties in statistical production and analysis due to the small number of statisticians. These include most sectoral statistical services, such as those in charge of agriculture or education.

In four sectors (education, agriculture, local economy and regional integration), ENSEA lecturers have developed a certain expertise that is now being used to conduct studies on behalf of international organizations. They are:

* for education statistics, by Sika Lazare and Mosso Rosine;

* for agricultural statistics, by Kouadjo Jean Marc and Nayo Ankouvi;

* for local economy, by Kouadio Kouassi Hughes;

* and for regional integration, Esso Loesse Jacques and Fé Doukouré Charles;

All lecturer-researchers at ENSEA and whose CVs are available on the institution’s website.

This expertise can be shared for the benefit of the National Statistical Institutes and sectoral statistical services.

The objective of ENSEA is to offer training modules to build the capacities of statisticians in these services but also those of their non-statisticians colleagues in order to improve production and statistical analysis.

Each subregional training seminar will involve seventeen (17) auditors from the subregion, five (5) of whom will be Ivorian and will be organized in Abidjan.

Expected results :

* Four (4) subregional training seminars are organized in the sectors of education statistics, agricultural statistics, local economic analysis and regional integration statistics;

* 70 experts from the sub-region are trained at ENSEA in the areas of education statistics, agricultural statistics, local economic analysis and regional integration statistics.

 

Activity 2: Support for the training of young African statisticians

Technical and technological changes have significantly disrupted education systems, particularly statistical training. An ongoing challenge is to keep pace with these changes in order to maintain the quality of trained graduates who must remain operational and competitive. In this sense, the actions concerned are structured around three points:

* Maintaining academic surveys: This type of operation introduces students to the difficulties of data collection and new developments in statistical survey practice such as the use of PDAs or tablets, the development of cartographic information systems. The databases resulting from these surveys can be used to introduce students to research, particularly during theses and internships. The implementation of these surveys requires the use of reprographic equipment in order to allow a consistent drawing of questionnaires.

* The equipment of a computer room: Over the years, the IT tool has become an essential element for research and training. In economics and statistics, this is all the more essential because the use of computer allows complex quantitative analyses to be processed in a short time. AfDB support has made it possible to equip a computer room. It also includes the acquisition of video projectors to support efforts to computerize and map course notes provided by lecturers. In addition to the hardware aspect, it should be noted that the software aspect has been strengthened through the acquisition of licenses for the statistical software (Stata 14, SPSS 20 and Eviews 8) to develop students’ technical skills in processing and analysing large databases.

* The organization of teaching missions: The harmonization of lessons is paramount for the harmonization of statistical practices in Africa. To this end, African statistical schools organize annual meetings to discuss the programmes taught. In addition to these meetings, ENSEA also involves teachers from other schools and AFRISTAT experts in its teaching.

Expected results :

* An academic survey is carried out;

* Two duplicators are acquired for academic surveys;

* 40 tablets with geolocation function are purchased and used for academic research;

* 40 microcomputers, 10 video projectors and statistical software licenses (Stata 14, SPSS 20 and Eviews 8) are purchased for training in computer science, statistical analysis and econometrics;

* 3 teaching missions are carried out at ENSEA

 

Activity 3: Strengthening the skills of lecturers and administrative staff

The strengthening of lecturers’ capacities in the field of knowledge transmission is a necessity for maintaining a high quality of training. In this sense, ENSEA has to organize one (01) pedagogical seminar for its lecturers. The aim was to train them on the theme of setting up a distance learning system to increase the number of continuing training courses offered to National Statistical Systems staff.

Lecturers have also developed their skills in statistical areas that are now receiving special attention. At the international level, these new modules will have to be integrated into the current ENSEA curriculum. These include statistics on vital statistics, the environment, governance and gender mainstreaming. These lecturers have also participated in conferences organized at the African level on these new themes.

In addition, in recent years, ENSEA has recruited young graduates to renew and revitalize its teaching staff and to develop new expertise. As part of their career promotion at CAMES, they are preparing work-and study theses in French universities. Three theses are currently in progress, two in social statistics and one in economic statistics. More specifically, they concern

(i) sexual risk behaviours among young people (health statistics),

(ii) the causal relationships between health status and employment status (employment statistics), and

(iii) the effects of non-conventional monetary policies (monetary economics).

The support requested consisted in financing a three-month doctoral stay for each researcher and should lead to a better visibility of ENSEA as a research centre, with a more active participation in the “African Journal of Statistics” published by the AfDB.

The activities of the support services (documentation, IT, education, communication, accounting) are essential to the quality of the services provided by the UTCs. It is important to retrain the staff concerned by training them in order to make their contributions more decisive.

Expected results :

* One (1) teacher training seminar is organized for the benefit of teachers;

* Three (3) teachers were able to complete their thesis work;

* Teachers’ capacities are strengthened through training seminars organized at ENSEA;

* Three (3) teachers participated in symposia at the African level on new topics in statistics;

* The capacities of five (5) administrative staff are strengthened through participation in training seminars.

 

Activity 4: Program Management

A sound programme management requires a final evaluation of both the financial and technical implementation of the programme. To this end, a financial audit of the programme was carried out.

Expected results :

* The program is audited.

Vous êtes à l'ENSEA

PRINCIPALES ACTIVITES ET RESULTATS ATTENDUS

Durant la phase IV du PRCS, les actions de l’ENSEA, s’articulent autour des trois (3) activités présentées ci-dessus :

Activité 1 : Perfectionnement des agents des Services statistiques nationaux

L’intérêt de disposer de statistiques fiables et de qualité pour la formulation et le suivi de politiques économiques n’est plus à démontrer. Malheureusement, malgré les efforts entrepris, il existe en Afrique un manque de ressources humaines de qualité et en quantité suffisantes. Au-delà des Instituts Nationaux de Statistique (INS), généralement bien pourvus, d’autres services statistiques ayant pourtant un rôle important, connaissent d’énormes difficultés de production et d’analyse statistiques du fait du faible nombre de cadre statisticiens. Il s’agit notamment de la plupart des services statistiques sectoriels comme par exemple ceux en charge de l’agriculture ou de l’éducation.

Dans quatre secteurs (l’éducation, l’agriculture, l’économie locale et l’intégration régionale), les enseignants de l’ENSEA ont développé une certaine expertise qui est aujourd’hui mise à profit pour la conduite d’étude pour le compte des organisations internationales. Il s’agit,

* pour les statistiques de l’éducation, de Sika Lazare et Mosso Rosine ;

* pour les statistiques de l’agriculture, de Kouadjo Jean Marc et Nayo Ankouvi ;

* pour l’économie locale, de Kouadio Kouassi Hugues ;

* et pour l’intégration régionale, de Esso Loesse Jacques et Fé Doukouré Charles ;

Tous enseignants chercheurs à l’ENSEA et dont les CV sont disponibles sur le site internet de l’établissement.

Cette expertise peut être partagée au profit des Instituts Nationaux de Statistique et des services statistiques sectoriels.

L’objectif de l’ENSEA est de proposer des modules de formations destinés à renforcer les capacités des statisticiens présents dans ces services mais aussi ceux de leurs collègues non statisticiens afin d’améliorer la production et l’analyse statistique.

Chaque séminaire sous-régional de formation concernera dix-sept (17) auditeurs de la sous-région dont cinq (5) ivoiriens et sera organisé à Abidjan.

Résultats attendus :

* Quatre (4) séminaires sous-régionaux de formation sont organisés dans les secteurs des statistiques de l’éducation, des statistiques agricoles, de l’analyse de l’économie locale et des statistiques sur l’intégration régionale ;

* 70 experts de la sous-région sont formés à l’ENSEA dans les secteurs des statistiques de l’éducation, des statistiques agricoles, de l’analyse de l’économie locale et des statistiques sur l’intégration régionale.

Activité 2 : Appui à la formation des jeunes statisticiens africains

Les mutations techniques et technologiques ont fortement bouleversé les systèmes éducatifs, notamment la formation statistique. Un défi permanent auquel sont confrontés les CFS est de demeurer en phase avec ces changements afin de maintenir la qualité des diplômés formés qui doivent demeurer opérationnels et compétitifs. Dans ce sens, les actions concernées s’articulent autour de deux points :

* Le maintien des enquêtes académiques. Ce type d’opération permet d’initier les élèves aux difficultés de la collecte de données et aux nouveaux développements de la pratique des enquêtes statistiques tels que l’usage des PDA ou des tablettes, l’élaboration des systèmes d’information cartographiques. Les bases de données issues de ces enquêtes peuvent servir pour l’initiation à la recherche des élèves, notamment lors des mémoires et des stages. La mise en œuvre de ces enquêtes nécessite l’utilisation de matériel de reprographie afin de permettre un tirage conséquent de questionnaires.

* L’équipement d’une salle informatique. L’outil informatique est devenu au fil des années un élément incontournable pour la recherche et la formation. En économie et en statistique, cela est d’autant indispensable que l’ordinateur permet en un temps réduit de traiter des analyses quantitatives complexes. L’appui de la BAD a permis d’équiper une salle machine. Il s’agit également de l’acquisition de vidéoprojecteurs pour accompagner les efforts d’informatisation et de schématisation des notes de cours fournis par les enseignants. Outre l’aspect équipement hardware, il convient de noter le renforcement de l’aspect software à travers l’acquisition de licences pour les

logiciels statistiques (Stata 14, SPSS 20 et Eviews 8) afin de développer les capacités techniques des étudiants en matière de traitement et d’analyse de grandes bases de données.

* L’organisation de missions d’enseignement. L’harmonisation des enseignements est un impératif pour l’harmonisation des pratiques statistiques en Afrique. A cet effet, les écoles africaines de statistique organisent des réunions annuelles afin de discuter des programmes dispensés. Outre ces réunions, l’ENSEA fait intervenir dans ses enseignements, des professeurs des autres écoles et des experts d’AFRISTAT.

Résultats attendus :

* Une enquête académique est réalisée ;

* Deux duplicopieurs sont acquis pour les enquêtes académiques ;

* 40 tablettes munies de fonction de géolocalisation sont achetées et utilisées pour l’enquête académique ;

* 40 micro-ordinateurs, 10 vidéoprojecteurs et des licences de logiciels statistiques (Stata 14, SPSS 20 et Eviews 8) sont achetés pour les enseignements en informatique, en analyse statistique et en économétrie ;

* 3 missions d’enseignement sont réalisées à l’ENSEA

Activité 3 : Consolider les compétences des enseignants et du personnel administratif

Le renforcement des capacités des enseignants dans le domaine de la transmission du savoir est une nécessité pour le maintien de la qualité de la formation. Dans ce sens, l’ENSEA a d’organiser un (01) séminaire pédagogique à l’attention de ses enseignants. Il s’est agi de les former sur la thématique de la mise en place d’un système de formation à distance pour une démultiplication de l’offre de formation continue adressée aux agents des Systèmes Statistiques Nationaux.

Les enseignants ont également perfectionnés dans des domaines statistiques qui font désormais l’objet d’une attention particulière au niveau international afin d’intégrer ces nouveaux modules aux enseignements actuels de l’ENSEA. Il s’agit notamment des statistiques de l’état civil, de l’environnement, de la gouvernance et de la prise en compte du genre. Ils ont aussi participer à des colloques organisés au niveau africain sur ces thématiques nouvelles.

Par ailleurs, depuis quelques années, l’ENSEA a recruté de jeunes diplômés pour renouveler et dynamiser son corps enseignant et pour développer de nouvelles expertises. Dans le cadre de leur promotion au CAMES, ils effectuent des thèses en alternance dans des universités françaises. Trois thèses sont présentement en cours dont deux en statistiques sociales et une en statistique économique. Elles portent plus précisément sur

(i) les comportements sexuels à risque chez les jeunes (statistique de la santé),

(ii) (ii) les relations causales entre état de santé et statut d’emploi (statistique de l’emploi), et

(iii) (iii) les effets des politiques monétaires non conventionnelles (économie monétaire).

L’appui sollicité a consister à financer pour chaque chercheur, un séjour doctoral de trois mois et devrait aboutir à une meilleure visibilité de l’ENSEA en tant que centre de recherche, avec pour corollaire une participation plus active dans la revue « Journal Africain de la Statistique » éditée par la BAD.

Les activités des services d’appui (la documentation, l’informatique, la scolarité, la communication, la comptabilité) sont essentielles à la qualité des prestations fournies par les CFS. Il importe de recycler les personnels concernés en les formant afin de rendre leurs apports plus déterminants.

Résultats attendus :

* Un (1) séminaire de formation pédagogique est organisé au bénéfice des enseignants ;

* Trois (3) enseignants ont pu achever leurs travaux de thèse ;

* Les capacités des enseignants sont renforcées par le biais de séminaires de formation organisés à l’ENSEA ;

* Trois (3) enseignants ont participé à des colloques au niveau africain sur des thématiques nouvelles en statistique ;

* Les capacités de cinq (5) agents administratifs sont renforcées par le biais de participation à des séminaires de formation.

Activité 4 : Gestion du programme

Les impératifs de bonne gestion de programme nécessitent une évaluation finale de l’exécution tant financière que technique du programme. A cet effet, un audit financier du programme a été réalisé.

Résultats attendus :

* Le programme est audité.