SEM DOC MURINDE 2

PRESENTATION

On 18 July 2016, ENSEA signed a memorandum of understanding with one of its institutional partners, the African Development Bank (AfDB), acting in its capacity as administrator of the Multinational Statistical Capacity Building Programme (MSCBP) for Development Results-Based Management.

The “Statistical Capacity Building” Programme is a response to the need to address the challenges of providing accurate and reliable statistics in Africa and mobilizing financial partners. Through capacity building of statistical institutions, this programme covers all 54 regional member countries.

It provides technical assistance and training while investing in the capacities of the national statistical systems of participating regional member countries (RMCs).

Beneficiaries include producers and users of official statistics, including national statistical agencies, national policy-makers, companies and investors, researchers and analysts, citizens of RMCs, subregional organizations (SROs) and statistical training centres (STCs).

This programme contributes to the development of more efficient statistical systems that meet the data needs for national development in member countries, to serve as a basis for achieving sustainable development objectives and to facilitate greater efficiency in the Bank’s operations in member countries. The programme has five distinct but closely related components, namely:

(i) the improvement of economic statistics;

(ii) the improvement of social statistics;

(iii) the improvement of data production, management and dissemination – Information Highway in Africa;

(iv) strategic planning, systems development, coordination and training; and

(v) the management and Programme execution,

Activities undertaken by ENSEA under the Programme relate to the Strategic Planning, Systems Development, Coordination and Training component.

SEM DOC MURINDE 2

PRESENTATION

L’ENSEA a signé le 18 juillet 2016 un protocole d’accord avec l’un de ses partenaires institutionnels, la Banque Africaine de Développement (BAD), agissant en sa qualité d’administrateur du Programme multinational de Renforcement des Capacités Statistiques (PRCS) pour la Gestion axée sur les résultats en matière de développement.

Le Programme « Renforcement des Capacités Statistiques » constitue une réponse au besoin de relever les défis que représentent la disponibilité de statistiques exactes et fiables en Afrique et la mobilisation de partenaires financiers. A travers, le renforcement des capacités des institutions chargées des statistiques, ce programme couvre tous les 54 pays membres régionaux.

Il permet d’assurer l’assistance technique et la formation tout en investissant dans les capacités des systèmes statistiques nationaux des pays membres régionaux (PMR) participants.

Des producteurs et utilisateurs des statistiques officielles figurent parmi les bénéficiaires, notamment les agences nationales des statistiques, les décideurs nationaux, les entreprises et les investisseurs, les chercheurs et les analystes, les citoyens des PMR, les Organisations sous-régionales (OSR) et les Centres de formation statistique (CFS).

Ce programme contribue au développement de systèmes de statistiques plus efficaces qui répondent aux besoins de données pour un développement national dans les pays membres, pour servir de base à la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable et faciliter une plus grande efficacité des opérations de la Banque dans les pays membres. Le programme comprend cinq composantes distinctes, mais étroitement liées, à savoir :

i) L’amélioration des statistiques économiques ;

ii) l’amélioration des statistiques sociales ;

iii) l’amélioration de la production, de la gestion et de la diffusion des données – autoroute de l’information en Afrique ;

iv) la planification stratégique, l’élaboration de systèmes, la coordination et la formation ; et

v) la gestion et l’exécution de Programme.

Les activités entreprise par l’ENSEA dans le cadre du Programme, se rapportent à la composante Planification stratégique, élaboration de systèmes, coordination et formation.