The 2020 PMA platform was launched in 2013 to address the need for performance monitoring to track progress towards the objectives and principles of the 2020 Family Planning initiative. The project introduced an innovative approach to data collection, designed to meet this need, by employing only resident interviewers recruited from within or near the enumeration areas (EAs) of the survey sample, and training them in the use of mobile technologies on smartphones to collect and send data to a cloud server. This approach not only offers the opportunity for rapid data validation and compilation, but also allows results to be delivered in a relatively short period of time. In addition, another key innovation of PMA 2020 was to collect data from both households and women aged 15-49 years to measure contraceptive demand and use, and from health delivery sites (HDSs), both public and private, serving the EAs concerned to measure the availability of services and the supply of amenities.

PMA 2020 is being implemented in 11 countries : Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Niger, Nigeria, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo under the overall coordination of the Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health (Gates Institute) at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University (JHU) and in partnership with a network of universities, research institutions and national statistical agencies and with financial support from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. In Côte d’Ivoire, two waves of the PMA 2020 surveys were conducted between 2017 and 2018.

Based on the results of PMA 2020, funding over four (04) years (2019-2022) was obtained for a second phase of the project. This new phase called Performance Monitoring for Action (PMA), still funded by the Gates Foundation, will be coordinated at the global level by the Gates Institute and Jhpiego. During this second phase, while pursuing the initial objectives of the first phase, PMA will bring methodological innovations: longitudinal monitoring of women over three (years) in order to better understand contraceptive dynamics, the integration of a specific module on adolescents and women’s empowerment, etc. The second phase of the project will also include the development of a new module on the impact of the project on women’s empowerment. The implementation of the PMA survey in Côte d’Ivoire for the next phase has been entrusted to the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Statistique et d’Economie Appliqué (ENSEA).

NEWS

Recruitment of Female Interviewers in 10 regions of Côte d’Ivoire and the autonomous county of Yamoussoukro

As part of the implementation of phase 2 of the Performance Monitoring for Action (PMA) project, the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Statistique et d’Économie Appliquée (ENSEA) in Abidjan is launching a recruitment notice for 11 Resident female interviewer in 10 regions of Côte d’Ivoire and the autonomous county of Yamoussoukro (see list of localities in…

Read more

PMA DOCUMENTS

PMA Working Plan

PMA Activities

PMA PROJECT CHARTER

PMA Project Charter

PMA AUDITS REPORTS

PMA Audits Reports

OUR OBJECTIVES

The PMA objective is to advance knowledge of family planning and reproductive health dynamics at the programmatic level. To achieve this, PMA will collect dynamic and cross-cutting high quality data to enable concrete measurement and improve programme performance through a sustainable and innovation-driven data collection platform based on PMA 2020.

The project has four interrelated objectives:

PMA ++
  • Objective 1:

    Conduct high quality surveys with a focus on programme data on FP and RH in targeted geographical areas.

  • Objective 2:

    Increasing the use of PMA data, by a growing number of stakeholders, for decision-making.

  • Objective 3:

    Create a viable, costed and sustainable LDC platform for potential donors.

  • Objective 4:

    Establish state-of-the-art standards and practices in business management and accountability.

PMA PROJECT INTERNAL COORDINATION TEAM

Essential information about the contract :

The contract between ENSEA and JHPIEGO for the implementation of the project specifies the conditions to be respected with regard to funding approvals and restrictions.

 

a) Thus, prior approvals from JHPIEGO are required for the following items:

  • 1) international air transport and transport not included in the approved work plan, programme description and programme budget (also referred to as “the budget”) and ;
  • 2) modifications to the budget and work plan in the event of a budget variance of more than 10% of the approved budget.

 

b) With regard to restrictions, it should be noted that information is not subject to restrictions if it :

  • 1) is generally available to the public;
  • 2) is non-exclusive or has been published by the disclosing Party without restriction;
  • 3) has been independently developed, acquired, prepared or produced by ENSEA;
  • 4) has been received by a Party from the United States Government without prior notice of restriction; or, after written notification to the disclosing Party,
  • 5) is required by law or judicial authority for disclosure.

La plateforme PMA 2020 a été lancée en 2013 pour répondre aux besoins de suivi de la performance afin de surveiller le progrès réalisé vers l’atteinte des objectifs et principes de l’initiative FP 2020 (Family Planning 2020). Le projet a introduit une approche novatrice de collecte des données, conçue pour satisfaire ce besoin, en employant uniquement des enquêtrices résidentes recrutées au sein ou à proximité des zones de dénombrement (ZD) de l’échantillon de l’enquête, et en les formant à l’utilisation des technologies mobiles sur Smartphones pour collecter et envoyer des données sur un serveur cloud. Cette approche offre l’opportunité non seulement d’une validation et compilation rapide des données, mais également elle permet une restitution des résultats dans des délais assez courts. Par ailleurs, une autre innovation clé de PMA 2020 a été de collecter des données à la fois auprès des ménages et des femmes de 15-49 ans pour mesurer la demande et l’utilisation de la contraception, et auprès des sites de prestation de santé (SPS), à la fois publics et privés, desservant les ZD concernés pour mesurer la disponibilité des services et l’offre de commodités.

PMA 2020 est mis en œuvre dans 11 pays : Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopie, Ghana, Inde, Indonésie, Kenya, Niger, Nigeria, Ouganda et République Démocratique du Congo sous la coordination globale de l’Institut Bill & Melinda Gates pour la Population et la Santé de la Reproduction (Institut Gates) à l’École de Santé Publique Bloomberg de l’Université de Johns Hopkins (JHU) et en partenariat avec un réseau d’universités, d’institutions de recherche et agences de statistiques nationales et avec le soutien financier de la fondation Bill and Melinda Gates. En Côte d’Ivoire, deux vagues de l’enquête PMA 2020 ont été réalisées entre 2017 et 2018.

Fort des résultats de PMA 2020, un financement sur quatre (04) années (2019-2022) a été obtenu pour une deuxième phase du projet. Cette nouvelle phase dénommée Performance Monitoring for Action (PMA) toujours financée par la fondation Gates sera coordonnée au niveau global par l’Institut Gates et Jhpiego. Au cours de cette deuxième phase, tout en poursuivant les objectifs initiaux de la première phase, PMA apportera des innovations méthodologiques : le suivi longitudinal des femmes sur trois (ans) afin de mieux comprendre la dynamique contraceptive, l’intégration d’un module spécifique sur les adolescentes et sur l’autonomisation des femmes, etc. La mise en œuvre de l’enquête PMA en Côte d’Ivoire pour la prochaine phase a été confiée à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Statistique et d’Economie Appliqué (ENSEA).

ACTUALITES

DOCUMENTS PMA

Plan de Travail PMA

Les activités du PMA

Charte du projet PMA

Rapports des Audits  du PMA

NOS OBJECTIFS

L’objectif de la PMA est de faire progresser les connaissances relatives à la dynamique de la planification familiale et de la santé de la reproduction sur le plan programmatique. Pour se faire, PMA collectera des données dynamiques et transversales de grande qualité afin de permettre une mesure concrète et d’améliorer les performances du programme via une plateforme de collecte de données durable et axée sur l’innovation, s’appuyant sur PMA2020.

Le projet s’est fixé quatre objectifs interdépendants :

PMA ++
  • Objectif 1:

    mener des enquêtes de haute qualité en mettant l’accent sur des données de programme sur la PF et la SR dans des zones géographiques ciblées;

  • Objectif 2:

    accroitre l’utilisation des données PMA, par un nombre croissant de parties prenantes, pour la prise de décision;

  • Objectif 3:

    créer une plate-forme PMA viable, chiffrée et pérenne aux bailleurs potentiels ;

  • Objectif 4:

    établir des normes et des pratiques de pointe en matière de gestion des affaires et de responsabilité.

L'EQUIPE INTERNE DE COORDINATION

LES MEMBRES QUI PILOTENT LE PROJET EN INTERNE

Informations essentielles relatives au contrat

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du projet, le contrat liant l’ENSEA et Jhpiego précise les conditions à respecter en ce qui concerne les approbations et restrictions de financement.

Ainsi, les approbations préalables de Jhpiego sont requises pour les éléments suivants :

(1) les transports aériens internationaux et les transports ne figurant pas dans le plan de travail approuvé, la description du programme et le budget du programme (également appelé « le budget») et ;

(2) les modifications du budget et du plan de travail en cas d’écart budgétaire supérieur à 10% du budget approuvé.

En ce qui concerne les restrictions, il convient de noter que les informations ne sont pas soumises à des restrictions si elles :

1) sont généralement accessibles au public;

2) sont non exclusives ou ont été publiées par la Partie divulgatrice sans restriction;

3) ont été développées, acquises, préparées ou produites de manière indépendante par l’ENSEA;

4) ont été reçues par une Partie du gouvernement des Etats-Unis sans préavis de restriction; ou, après notification écrite à la Partie divulgatrice,

5) sont requises par la loi ou l’autorité judiciaire pour divulgation.